Y Learning Tutoring

At the YMCA we believe every child deserves the resources to grow and achieve. That's why we provide academic support programs for hundreds of elementary school age students across the Triangle.

Y Learning provides a structured tutorial program for students who are not meeting school system or grade level benchmarks. The YMCA works with schools, teachers and guidance counselors to identify students who could benefit from this program and who may not have the resources or support to achieve their goals. 

The YMCA carefully selects counselors and a certified teacher for each Y Learning school site. Students are evaluated periodically to ensure they are making progress.

Y Learning is completely funded through the YMCA of the Triangle's Annual Campaign. 

Our YMCA is committed to bridging the education gap. That's why we developed Y Learning, a standardized tutorial program, for students in grades K – 8 who struggle to reach school-system benchmarks. Most Y Learning students lack financial and educational support at home.

Y Learning programs maintain a 1:6 staff-to-child ratio and include at least one certified teacher at each site. Students participate in Y Learning at no cost, thanks to community support and donations to the YMCA’s Annual Campaign. Today, more than 1,000 students in Wake, Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Orange and Pamlico Counties participate in Y Learning. 

Please contact the YMCA staff member below for more information about Y Learning or starting a program at your school. 

Contact Information

A.E. Finley YMCA
Austin Branch
Austin.Branch@YMCATriangle.org
919-845-3875

Alexander Family YMCA
Sarah Peterson
Sarah.Peterson@ymcatriangle.org
919-582-2279

Chapel Hill - Carrboro YMCA
Alex Mayfield
Alexander.Mayfield@ymcatriangle.org
919-987-8850

Chatham County YMCA
David Muela
David.Muela@YMCATriangle.org
919-545-9622

Durham YMCAs
Patrice Johnson
Patrice.Johnson@YMCATriangle.org
919-667-9622 ext. 2341

Ingram Family YMCA
Maddie Halloran
Maddie.Halloran@ymcatriangle.org
919-777-9622 ext. 8891
 
Johnston County YMCA
Dustin Williams
Dustin.Williams@YMCATriangle.org
919-582-8773

Kerr Family YMCA
Jason Charles
Jason.Charles@YMCATriangle.org
919-562-7616
 
Kraft Family YMCA
Melonie Lanier
Melonie.Lanier@YMCATriangle.org
919-657-9622 ext. 1415

Northwest Cary YMCA
Allison Bost
Allison.Bost@YMCATriangle.org
919-653-2384
 
Poole Family YMCA 
Rebecca Skrobacki
Rebecca.Skrobacki@ymcatriangle.org
919-582-9622
 
Taylor Family YMCA
Allison Bost
Allison.Bost@YMCATriangle.org
919-653-2384