Moving for Better Balance

Moving for Better Balance is an evidence-based, falls-prevention program that uses the principles and movement of Tai Chi to help older adults improve balance and increase confidence for everyday activities.

The program is led by a trained instructor and focuses on improving functional ability to reduce fall-related risks and frequency. The 12-week, 24-session-program builds on traditional Tai Chi by transforming the movements into therapeutic training for balance and integrating the movements into daily functions.

“Twelve very wonderful and useful weeks! I’ve made new friends and learned new moves! The routine is useful for better balance but they are also meditative.”
--Moving for Better Balance Participant

Take this quiz to see if you are at risk of falling.

Moving for Better Balance is offered at the following YMCA locations.

A.E. Finley YMCA
Paula Ruff, Paula.Ruff@YMCATriangle.org

Alexander Family YMCA
Matt Lilley, Matt.Lilley@YMCATriangle.org

Chapel Hill - Carrboro YMCA
Louise Keefer, Louise.Keefer@YMCATriangle.org

Downtown Durham YMCA
Leslie Lazaro, Leslie.Lazaro@YMCATriangle.org

Ingram Family YMCA
Nick Hoffman, Nick.Hoffman@YMCATriangle.org

Kerr Family YMCA
Brooke Gamber, Brooke.Gamber@YMCATriangle.org

Kraft Family YMCA
Cliff Manion, Cliff.Manion@YMCATriangle.org

Taylor Family YMCA
Rodney Alexander, Rodney.Alexander@YMCATriangle.org

For dates and registration information and to see if this program is right for you, please fill out the Moving for Better Balance Assessment form below and connect with your Wellness Director.

Cost

$150 (Members)
$180 (Participants)

Sessions

12-week sessions
Meets twice a week at the Y.